Escape to Freycinet

 

OK so it’s been out a couple of years now and I have read it twice, but I think there’s a great read some of you might be missing out on. It’s the wonderful novel Freycinet by my author pal Melanie Calvert.

Melanie is one of what I call the ‘clever people’. The ‘clever people’ are people I know who are doing marvellous things that they are passionate about and for Mel that’s writing.

Mel’s own description,  that Freycinet  is  “Picnic at Hanging Rock meets Twin Peaks”  instantly had me hook, line and sinker. 

Mel’s words fill the page with luscious descriptions of the incredible Tasmanian landscape. You can almost here the breeze and smell the bush. I had strong feelings for her main characters within a few pages of their introductions and she draws you in before you even realise. As for the plot, well… you’ll just have to read it but hang on for a rich, eerie and murderous ride.

Check out Freycinet and Melanie. They say everyone has a novel in them, I think Mel has more than one and I can’t wait to see what she does next.

Don’t trust me? This is what others have had to say.

 

Buy Freycinet.

 

BREAKING NEWS: 24 May 2014 – Author Melanie Calvert is off to talk to a prominent Aussie director about the possibilities of turning this magical and mysterious novel into a feature film! Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

